A Baby Changes Everything……….

So here’s what I’m thinking…………

Teenage girl, much too young

unprepared for what’s to come

a baby changes everything…”

Indeed……

A mother’s heart is a special place.  It holds many things close, some terrifying, some full of worry, some full of questions……but more than those…..moments of complete, unexplainable joy and love, moments so miraculous that words cannot be used……..

Not a ring on her hand

all her dreams and all her plans

A baby changes everything

A baby changes everything….”

As a mother, I’ve experiences some of both.  The unbelievable joy of carrying two beautiful children, after I was told I would probably not have any after two – one very extensive, and very painful – surgeries.  But God had other plans.  My children were waiting for me and God had graciously allowed me to be their earthly mother – or mama, as I’m known….And some of the inevitable moments all mothers experience – angst, worry, many nights of lost sleep, and unending prayers storming heaven for their babes…..

Most people in the town I grew up in assumed I would go on to be a music teacher or performer somewhere, as I had spent my entire school years preparing, and competing for just that.  But that was not the desire of my heart.  To be a mother was.  I have no doubt that’s what God had created me specifically for, and if I never had or will have another claim to fame – then I am perfectly content and happy.   I have had the blessing of birthing and raising two amazing, smart, funny, happy, kind, loving, followers of God as my children and I could not be more blessed……..

“The man she loves she’s never touched

How will she keep his trust?

A baby changes everything

A baby changes everything…

And she cries!

Ooh, she cries….”

Except…..that I have been even more blessed – How is that possible????!!!!!

“She has to leave, go far away

Heaven knows she can’t stay

A baby changes everything…”

One word.  Grandchildren.  You know what I’m talking about.  The moment when you realize that yes, you CAN love someone as much as you love your children – THEIR CHILDREN!!!

“She can feel it’s coming soon

There’s no place, there’s no room

A baby changes everything

A baby changes everything….”

How is it possible to find even more love in your heart than what you thought you had given totally and completely from your mother’s heart to your own children?????

“And she cries!

And she cries!

Oh, she cries!….”

Then they cry……and indeed, more love than you even knew you had comes washing over you as you gaze upon this most perfect of children and realize you have a second chance to do even more, and even more right, than you did the first time!!!  Grace abounding!!!!

“Shepherds all gather ’round

Up above the star shines down

A baby changes everything….”

Yet another chance to fall in love with those precious eyes, hands, feet, mouth……to cuddle and smell that unmistakable sweet baby smell that is found no where else in the universe…another chance to take a small hand and help lead it in HIS direction…….To share daily, as I do with my daughter’s son, all of those precious, precious moments once again……and to meet for the very first time in a few short weeks, my beautiful second grandson, born to my son and daughter of my heart…..

To share in the growing up and the bringing up of two precious, sweet souls that God has entrusted to our family….

“Choir of angels sing

Glory to the newborn King

A baby changes everything

A baby changes everything…”

THANK YOU GOD!!!!!

“Hallelujah

Hallelujah

Hallelujah

Hallelujah!!!!!”

And you just pray daily that you are up to the task,  that God will give you the grace, the mercy, the knowledge and the focus to do your part in His will for the life of this child……

“My whole life has turned around

I was lost but now I’m found

A baby changes everything

A baby changes everything….”

Another chance to hold my loved ones close and never let go…..and to be forever eternally grateful for The Baby that was born to give us life everlasting…………

“A baby changes everything……”

Indeed………

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Baby Changes Everything……….

  1. Toni says:

    Thanks for sharing these precious words from a Mother’s heart with me. It brought back wonderful memories 36 years ago today when I gave birth to my first child, Kip. Yes, a baby does change everything and it gives us a beautiful picture of God’s unconditional love.
    Your words were definitely anointed!! May you and your family have the most wonderful Christmas with those precious grandchildren and of course children.
    Blessings,
    Toni

  2. CherieKT says:

    Lovely! So excited to see you soon & for you to meet Henry 🙂 love you!!

Leave a Reply

