Sick Days……

So this is what I’m thinking……….

Nobody wants to be sick, or wants their loved ones to be sick…….

My little guy and I shared a couple of “sick” days last week – he was feeling a little under the weather………

Truly, is there anything more amazing that cuddling with your little one???? I don’t think so. Under any circumstances, whether it’s reading a book, sharing some before bed snuggles, or cuddling up when he’s not feeling up to par – it’s all still amazing to cuddle with a child…..the absolute best in the world…….

Life gets in the way, but guess what?? Those dirty clothes will still be there tomorrow to be washed; the cookies you planned on making today can wait as well…….NOTHING is more important to your child, or to each other for that matter, – no gift greater – than that of your time….

Next week, I turn 60. Wow. I can hardly believe that. I don’t feel any different than I did years ago, well except when I look down at my own hands and wonder who those old hands belong to!! Oh sure, I have a few more aches and pains, can’t move as quickly as I once did, and certainly don’t have the stamina that I once enjoyed. But I don’t mind. This season is a gift as well. My days are spent with a little one that I cherish, love and adore – how wonderful is that? I get the every day opportunity to relive some moments from my children’s youth, which by the way, seems like just yesterday.

I’ve spent many a sick day with a number of folks in my life. Some were my own – and I still crave tapioca, soda crackers, and 7-Up – my mom’s remedy’s – to this day when I’m down!

I spent sick days with my mama when she had a stroke and died 5 weeks later. I spent sick days with my daddy when he went through cancer, not once, but twice, before it took him. I spent sick days with my mother-in-law, when she passed with brain cancer. I spent sick days with my sister-in-law, who also died of cancer. And I’m reminded, that close to a year ago, those words struck our family again when my daughter was diagnosed with melanoma. Praise God, hers was caught early and she is doing well now. I remember when she was a baby and I spent sick days with her in another hospital as she battled pneumonia as a newborn…..Or the “sick” to her stomach feeling that every mama shares as her child goes to war, the knot in your stomach that never subsides until you see them again…….

But what was the common theme of all of this???? Time. Time spent with all of these precious people. Time was all I could give. I was not a doctor, I couldn’t treat their condition. But I could give them me – in the form of my time. Sometimes we just sat together. Sometimes we talked and shared stories in the middle of the night while everyone else was asleep. Sometimes I sang – I sang to my daddy, his favorite song, the day before he died….. It is a memory I will cherish forever as he looked at me with his eyes full of tears, as you see, he could not move or talk at that point in time – but I knew what he was saying. Time holding my mama’s hands and rubbing her face with her favorite facial cream – tho she too, was unable to communicate, I know she heard me and appreciated the tenderness.

There is nothing that takes the place of spend time with those you care about, and in fact, even a stranger – because only the angels know who you are entertaining………….

You see time is our most precious commodity. We all have the same 24 hours in a day, and we all choose how we are going to use it…..As for me, I’m going to hold my loved ones close and never let go……

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sick Days……

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Beautiful and very meaningful.

Leave a Reply

